I decided last night that I was hungry, and figured I would take Big Mama(my truck) over to KFC in Little Havana which is ALWAYS an adventure.
The last time I was there, I not only manage to make a fool out of myself, but probably offend someone... oh well! I pulled to the drive thru (I have yet enough courage to go inside at night) and order a number 6... "CUAL NUM-ER SISS?" the lady answers back..."DO JU HHWAN' FRUN KE EFFE SE, O DO JU HHWAN' TACO BELL". Then it just slipped out. Let's just say, I forgot that I was in Miami, and 106% of the people here speak Spanish, that I'm not the only one. I will not repeat what I said, however, let this be a lesson- if you don't have anything nice to say, be sure you say it in a language the person you are saying it about does NOT understand!
Last night was the first night I managed to get someone that spoke English, and was friendly; two things you hardly get in Miami! My night was good!
I go home, I eat, I chill, I take a sleeping pill.
Then I go to bed, who knows what time.
In the last 8 days, I have been to Boston, Iceland, Romania, Puta... errr, Punta Cana- Dominican Republic, Central PA, and a bunch of cities in between there. So needless to say my bodies time clock is asking me "what the hell do you expect", I have no idea whether to sleep, wake up, nap, get ready for bed, get ready to wake up while napping from waking up or nap waking up from getting ready for bed. Does that make sense? I hope not, if it does, you're crazier than I am!
I rent an efficiency in Miami (not too far from the airport)from a nice couple. The guy is from the Netherlands, so I can practice my Dutch, and his wife is latin (not sure where from though)...the place is nice compared to the one I had on Miami Beach. I never hear from the landlords when I'm here (which is rarely), unlike the constant arguments in German of my previous landlords. The place is set up where if they come home at odd hours, I do not hear them ; unlike the door slamming and yelling of the predeceasing Nazi twins. They [current landlords] do not come in at 1am, and wake their baby up and allow her to run around the place screaming at the top of her lungs mumbling "nein nein nein nein nein" like some cross-eyed backwards German rain man baby, bless her lil heart ; unlike,you guessed it, the evil, conniving, try to steal your money, buy one get one free Hitler WHORES.::::sigh::::: however I digress.
I managed to clean out my truck today. It only had enough paper in there to wall paper every Manhattan high rise in the Financial District, about 6 pair of shoes, fiiiiiiive pairs of socks, 4 empty cans, 3 gas receipts, 2 unlabeled CDS, and a full can of Fabreeze Linen Scent. (just had to add a little bit of Christmas in considering I spent my Christmas stuck in a hotel in Boston). It sometimes is sad when you live so much of your life on the road, you feel like you are constantly playing "catch up". I feel like my poor truck hadn't been cleaned out in forever. So now, its as clean as its going to be.
I need to go to the store to get a few things, and then go to bed, because I have to be up at 2am.
My adventure for the new years starts like this:
1am- wake up cussing
1:05am- Shower, get dressed
1:30-ish - head into work
2am- Limo to Tampa (trust me its not as elite as it sounds, by limo it means a company van with no suspension, no cushion)
10am (yes you read that right 8 hours after I start) - take a flight to Toronto, Canada
THEN - trust me it gets better.
We take ANOTHER limo from there to Buffalo, NY. Which according to our itinerary, is only going to take an hour, Google Maps says 1hr 45min, and that's not factoring in Snow, Customs, and traffic... which means it will probably take us close to 3 hours.
I love a good adventure!!!
I am off to run my errands, and get my first food of the day.
“Travel is the frivolous part of serious lives, and the serious part of frivolous ones.” ~Anne Sophie Swetchine (1782-1857)
Wednesday, December 30, 2009
Tuesday, December 29, 2009
Introduction to my World
What is the world to me? I guess it depends on the day. Sometimes I wake up, and the world is an empty chalk board (or I guess it would be a dry erase board these days) just begging me to draw my world how I want it. Then there are those days I force myself out of bed (be it home, hotel, or futon) feeling like I woke up in the depths of G-d's sewer.
I consider myself a walking contradiction, and because of that my world consists of internal battles. There are days when I think I should be able to say whatever the hell I want, and people should just deal with it... and those are the days when my inner voice (or voices depending on language, time zone, location, and how many drinks I have consumed) tell me that I need to take other people's feelings into consideration. Then I have the opposite, where I am so worried about people's feeling on the outside, that my inner voice(s) are cussing in every language I know telling me that I'm too nice,.... ok so I'm a crack monkey! But that's my world.
I travel the world as a living, as well as for fun and figured, what the hell, might as well put some of my life experience to paper, who knows, I might look back and find that my world is actually quite interesting someday.
I do feel that everyday no matter how good or $h*tty the world may seem, that I need to immerse myself into it... it is after all... MY world, so I should be the one to decide if its a $h*tty day, or a good one!
I'll end today with a cliche saying I have always loved, and try to live by it "Every man dies... but not every man TRULY lives".
I consider myself a walking contradiction, and because of that my world consists of internal battles. There are days when I think I should be able to say whatever the hell I want, and people should just deal with it... and those are the days when my inner voice (or voices depending on language, time zone, location, and how many drinks I have consumed) tell me that I need to take other people's feelings into consideration. Then I have the opposite, where I am so worried about people's feeling on the outside, that my inner voice(s) are cussing in every language I know telling me that I'm too nice,.... ok so I'm a crack monkey! But that's my world.
I travel the world as a living, as well as for fun and figured, what the hell, might as well put some of my life experience to paper, who knows, I might look back and find that my world is actually quite interesting someday.
I do feel that everyday no matter how good or $h*tty the world may seem, that I need to immerse myself into it... it is after all... MY world, so I should be the one to decide if its a $h*tty day, or a good one!
I'll end today with a cliche saying I have always loved, and try to live by it "Every man dies... but not every man TRULY lives".
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)
