Thursday, January 6, 2011

Waiting in the World of Ghettodom

So here I sit…. back in Orlando

Sipping a cup of café con leche… made at home, not some small Cuban joint up the street where they came to know my name, and exactly how much sugar I like. The little café where they had the best breakfast is no longer within a 4 minute drive.

There is soft music from Pandora- “Before Sunrise” by Kiran Murti to be exact- not loud Celia Cruz “AZUCAR, AZUCAR” coming from the ancient Cuban lady next door. Yes, the lady that did some brujeria the day before I got down there to get the rest of my stuff. How do I know? Why else would there be a dead chicken, plucked, outside of her house?

I don’t know how to feel just yet.

I have been absent from most things that are ‘normal’ to my life. I suppose I do this as a form of exercise. We never know how far we can push ourselves, until we do it.

Well… I’m doing it.

I put in my resignation letter for a job that I loved, to pursue something I love more- and of course someone I love more! The response from my company: “Ok- good luck”.

Not “is there anything to change your mind”. Not- “oh my, this is a shock”.

I think that was the hardest thing about leaving. The fact that I meant nothing, well, at least to the non-educated, stuck in the 80s dressing, ignorant, racist, Big Lot dye job, bark like a dog- bit like a toothless dead wonky-eyed hobo, fell off the top step of a double-wide bitch that used to manage me. Am I bitter? NOOOOOO, I’m past aaaall that now!

The saving grace is my direct supervisor and I had spoken close to a month before I made my decision to leave. She pretty much said I was wasting my talents there. That lady is an asset to the company. Not just because she has good taste- I mean, hello, she DID hire ME, but because she really is the one that runs that department. Everyone sees it- yet no one recognizes it. At least I did, and I was very appreciative of it.

Since coming to Orlando, I have gone into my shell a little. I know big changes are coming for me. I just can’t exactly understand what they are yet.

I had a friend once tell me- “sometimes you just jump, and the net appears.”

I wanted to tell her “ho, I am NOT in Cirque du Soleil” But I know what she meant.

So I jumped.

Now I am saying- “APPEAR DAMMIT, APPEAR!!”.

I have withdrawn from Facebook, my friends, my family- other than my crazy mother who there is no hiding from, she’s like a ninja, they need to send her crazy ass to find Osama!

I’m not depressed at all. I am just so calm- I think that’s what freaks me out the most. I just KNOW that everything will be fine.

The other day, I went to orientation for one school I will be attending.

I am glad to know that I still have my ghetto magnet!

Everyone always comments that I can walk into a room filled with 50 thousand people. If there were ONE ghetto girl… she would seek me out, and we would be best friends!

Apparently, this holds true in educational establishments as well.

For starters, the professor who was doing the orientation had her bowl of “ghetto-os” that morning. You could tell that was one educated lady- but ghetto does not mean stupid!

The professor said “ERRR-body up in here that don’t like ta read… well, dat went out da do da minute you stepped up in HURR…. up in dis establishment, they are hardcore on dat first ‘are-ah’ that you learned when you were little…. reading”

It was love at HELLUR!

As for the people in the class…. of course the girl with brownish hair and the 1B long pony-tail sat in front of me and had to turn around ERY moment she could to talk to me. I wanted to be like… um shoooze me, but we can tell dat shit aint yours (referring to her pony-tail). But she was PROUD of that pony-tail. She slung that thing around like she had been growing it all her life. Go’on guhl!!

Behind me, I had someone similar, except she had a short curly RED bun, with black hair… I don’t know who she’s trying to fool! I really liked her though- she was the loud one of the class, and was using words that I had never heard, so at least she kept it entertaining!

Afterward the orientation, I had to stand in line… for 2 hours (once again, am I bitter? On this one- HELL YEA)… to hand them 3 pieces of paper. Yes, you heard that right.. to HAND them 3 pieces of paper.

Not- oh, if you’re just turning in paperwork that needs to be collected and do not have any questions, just place them here. OH NOOOOOO! Stand yo butt in this line and listen to the coke-head (literally) talk about the best deal on a half ball, whole ball, basketball, whatever they call it.

I have to just say something about him. WHY? That’s really all, and I turned around once and actually asked him why he was wasting his parent’s money going to school.

If he is:

1- stupid enough to talk about doing cocaine, and all the other crap he mentioned (I must be getting old because I only understood the coke and marijuana references) in a line FULL of people he has never met before

2- mentioning the fact that he has been selling it

3 - mentioned the WHEREABOUTS of the guy he gets it from.

Yes, he didn’t just say “oh Jason is in the greater Orlando area”, he said “you know once you past that 7-11 on the right off (I can’t remember the name of the road he said, but he said the road), his house is that tan one there with the new jag in front.”

REALLY?

Seriously? You are really dumb... fo real!

I eventually got tired of him talking so loud, that I couldn't keep my mouth shut. But I did it in pure Myke fashion. I would smile, and just say things out loud.

I had temporary tourettes syndrome.

Off subject- kinda-Microsoft word does not recognize this word, so I had to actually do research to find out how to spell it correctly- and me being so damn curious, actually ended up reading about the disorder!. Rather interesting actually. I will admit I'm probably going to hell, because I still think there are times that this is one of the funniest disorders!

Back to my babbling-

So I had TTS ® (Temporary Tourettes Syndrome)- yes I made that up- get over it!

“We know who’s taking chemistry…crack-head”

No filter.

“I bet someone is mad tuition doesn't include a silver plated straw”

No patience.

“Shut up, shut up, shut up, shut…the…fuck…up”

After that fiasco, I met up with my “Italian family” (just friends that have become more like family… not code for mafia) at Universal. I had an amazing time as always with them.

It’s going to be hard being further from them now…. but I know they will visit, and I can visit them. Besides, we always have our Pictionary memories of “Team Hitler” and “Team Ninja” – that will be a story for another time though.

At the end of the day, they all came and crashed at the house. There were Italians laying everywhere. On the couches, on the floors, on the tables, in the hall- all of them wearing togas and yelling in Italian about Julius Cesar and pasta and Roman orgies.

Ok, not the last part, but I wanted to be sure you were still reading, and awake!

The following morning, I got up early, made some rum balls- because I’m just that domestic!

Besides, I’m all about sharing my balls… my rum balls you dirty dirty minded monkeys!

The family left after several cups of coffee and tea- it saddened me a little… ok, a lot! The leaving, not the coffee and tea.

I had lunch later that day with someone very dear to me. I can say probably the one person that is going to be my saving grace through this trying time of mine.

It was a good bitch session. I bitched some, he bitched some, we saw a bitch, a bitch saw us, he said bitch a couple times, I said bitch a couple more times than that…. it was bitch-tastic!

I am now playing the game of ‘wait’.

My transfer status from my second job….. waiting.

My financial aid for school…. waiting

My start date for Chinese School (8th)…. waiting

My realization that I am not getting paid to travel the world anymore….. waiting

I think the only thing I am not waiting to do… is exhale. Although that was a good movie!

I have no clue what is to come in the next couple weeks. I am sure it will all balance out.

Though I do not believe that everything is “written” for us- I do believe that everything happens for the right reasons, at the right times. (Except traffic in Miami… thank god I don’t have to deal with that anymore)

I guess I just have to remember that with every door closed behind you, is another hallway to explore!

“If you want to know your past- look into your present conditions. If you want to know your future- look into your present actions” ~ Chinese Proverb