Tuesday, May 29, 2012

Calming the Angry Voices


Have you ever opened your eyes and realized you were not on the right side of the bed immediately… well, this morning – HOW YOU DURIN?  That is exactly what happened to me.

Lately, this has slowly become a popular theme – I have no clue why. Well I do know why, I just never address it, why – because I’m too nice of a guy I guess.

I think life is taking its toll on me. I know that in eastern philosophies like Hinduism and Buddhism say “compassion can conquer all evils”, and Christianity says “love thy neighbor”, Islam preaches the importance being charitable; Judaism that ,”the things on this earth are good, and together they are very good”… and Rastafarianism, "Let’s smoke dis shit.” Right now, I am thinking of becoming a Rastafarian. Too bad I do not smoke weed, because if I did – today would be the day that I would be so high that Snoop Dogg would actually be looking UP to see me. That is how high I would be.

I am over people.

I find it so amazing how selfish people are. Even as I write this I am verifying it because my reasoning behind my thoughts are just that, selfish. But I think everyone needs to be selfish SOMETIME in order to look after their selves… now, is simply MY time.  It kills me to say it too because I truly feel that I try to be selfless 99% of the time. Apparently for most, that is not enough. And I am truly getting tired of it.

I do not know if it is simply the area, or the “season of my life I am in” (to quote my mother) But people really SUCK!

Now before some of my readers get their panties, thongs, granny panties, boxers, boxer briefs, g-strings, or simply their “going commando” nuts and coochies all up in a bunch… please note that just because this post is about “selfishness” – it is not necessarily about YOU! (But then again, it very well may be you selfish mother fucka!)

This is going to be the downfall of mankind… selfishness, not going commando for those of you whom are wondering. I think if more people went commando, they would probably be less uptight, but I will save that for another post.

We constantly are worrying about ourselves that we never see the pain and suffering, or hell, even the joys of someone else.

Here is a little experiment I want you to perform.

Wait… don’t take your drawz off – remember I said that will be for another posting… we’re still talking about selfishness, not all your junk blowin, flappin, or slappin in the breeze.

The next time you are talking to someone (someone besides a close friend) just pay attention to how many times they use “me” or “I.” In addition to that, look at how long it takes them to ask you something about yourself. What percentage of the conversation is about them, and what percentage is about random stuff?

I have been mentally conducting this experiment for the last few months. Speaking of it… no wonder I have been in such a shit mood lately.

I have found that there are very few people that actually “care” about what is going on in my life. And I say that not because I am on a “woe is my, my life sucks” path.

Fuck that! I actually am in one of the best places I have ever been in my life (not “locationally” which I believe is not even a word). 

However, regardless (or I should say irregardless simply because I think its funny to see people’s faces when other people use it)it is taxing when I realize how selfish people are … especially people who consider themselves close to me.  What the fuck does that even mean?

“I consider you as one of my closest and dearest friends.” Now as a linguist I really take into consideration words. Well, to be honest I spell for shit, but it’s not how the word looks, it’s what it means – we’ll just go with that for now.

Back to the word “consider.” One of the meanings means to “make allowance for.” So what you are telling me is – you are “making allowance for me” to be your friend. Ok, ok, ok … I know that the other definitions have to do with thinking carefully; bear in mind, but we are not focusing on that meaning… I want to focus on THIS meaning at the moment.

Do you have to really ‘make allowance’ for friends? Not that I have ever encountered. Making allowance is something you do, say, when you have a new puppy. And usually those things are things that do not have good “feelings” behind it.

“That little bastard shit on my floor again…but considering he’s a puppy, it's ok… bless his little heart.”

Now the true meaning of it comes from the Latin comsidus (to set alongside of the stars) – which would make sense if you are talking about “considering” yourself one of my friends… because yes, you would be alongside a star… ME.

Great… now not only am I selfish… I am an egotistical condescending asshole.  See what these people are doing to me.

:::sigh::::

In spite of all the nasty folks that seem to inch their way into my life (I’m talking bout the evil nasty, not the freak-nasty gutter minded people who I enjoy being around because they seem to understand my warped sense of humor), I refuse to stop being a good person. I will continue to do what I do as a friend, lover, son, brother, student, employee, and crack dealer… ok the last one was a joke for those members of the government who are trying to be coy…

I just hope that everyone who reads this will take a moment out of their selfishness and try to look at the things that other people do for you. Even if it is as simple as giving you the bigger cookie when there is only two left… it’s sadly the little unseen things that mean the most. And just like those things – when that person is unseen (or dead) you will realize how much they contributed to your very own selfish little utopia you live in.

“Wisdom ceases to be wisdom when it becomes too proud to weep, too grave to laugh, and too selfish to seek other than itself.” (Kahlil Gibran 1883-1931)

Tuesday, May 15, 2012

Detoxing the Craziness of Nothing


Wow, I guess I suck at keeping promises. I read some of my last blogs which I do occasionally to remind me that I really am not only crazy, but… well… ok I’m crazy. There is no other way to put it. But the point is I said I would stay a little more consistent with my blogs… guess I was wrong then wasn’t I! I do have reasoning behind why it is I have not though.

I am still going through a bit of “detox” from taking 24 credits in one semester. That is 8 classes, of which 4 of them were foreign languages… different ones at that. Chinese, Arabic, French and German. If you are asking yourself why… please refer to the comment about craziness in the above paragraph.

In addition to this, I also got a new job. No more crazy people at Lowes. I sometimes miss the stupidity, because now – I am the stupid person at work. I work for an extension of University of Pennsylvania’s Linguistics Department. Needless to say everyone I work with is WAY smarter than I am! But I really enjoy it. It forces me to
“smarten-up!”

Now I am counting down to my trip to China. It’s well overdue! It is funny once you have worked in jobs where you travel so much! Travel gets in your blood and when you haven’t traveled for a while, you almost become depressed. The excitement of the change in pace, the new sites, sounds, smell. I miss it! I truly truly miss it! And all this time on my hands, now that I am not studying, is really reminding me how stationary my life is now.

It is funny how when you have so many classes how you have no time to really think about anything but your next test. I now see why it is people go to school when they are young. Not saying I am old… just saying that at 33 – I don’t really recover from an all-nighter of studying as well as I used to!

I sadly don’t have much more to say other than hopefully I will have something interesting to write about in my next blog. Who wants to hear about school… BORING!!!! Other than my Social Problems class – that was filled with crack-monkeys, whores and ignunt assholes! (I have to cuss at least once in my blog, otherwise it wouldn’t be me) I look forward to more blogs – at more consistent intervals!

“Rest in reason; move in passion.” ~ Khalil Gibran (1883-1931)