Thursday, August 18, 2011
The Rapin' Ranch in a Shit Covered Car
Thursday, July 14, 2011
Hills Brown Like Cow Caca
This is truly going to be a ranting- so if you are easily offended (more than likely if you read my blog you are not), or don’t like negativity (hey, sometimes it even happens to me)… then you probably should stop reading now. I will let you know when I am back to talking about bubblegum, rainbows and sprinkles on cupcakes!
So I don’t know what has been up with me lately- I have been in the foulest mood. So unlike me. I usually have a way of just letting things roll of my back like a nickel placed on a jheri curl… just SLIDE right off… not so much lately- the smallest things aggravate me.
I would like to be able to pinpoint what exactly it is… I just don’t seem to have time. My schedule seems to be school, work, cook, clean (sometimes),school, garden, cook, work, school, cook… Luckily work has cut back my hours pretty drastically, so that is giving me some more free time… but even that free time is taken up by something else.
School… well… I said I was still forming my opinion about this session- I officially have one. IT SUCKS!
I think I was terribly spoiled with both professors and classmates during my last session. I sadly admit that even though I was reluctant about Algebra- I finished up with a B. He was a very good professor, a little strange- but hey, who isn’t? The classmates all were… interesting. There was at least some kind of talking- about more than just finding X.
My English class (session 1) – well everyone knows how much I really loved that. The professor was as crazy as the rest of the class- which made it a fun learning environment. Plus, with the professor being a freelance translator- of course I naturally held her a lot higher than all the other professors considering I hope to one day do that as well.
Now this session….. :::deep breath:::
I try to approach everything with a clean slate. I really do.
Sociology- took it in high school- loved it.
Now in college… I still love the subject- I even really like the professor… but the class!! Where do I begin? Day 1- well… I walked in- no one was sitting next to each other. No one talking. Bad sign for Mr. Mouth of the South here… I like to talk- and hello dammit- this is SOCIOLOGY! The one girl that works my nerves the most is this really sloppy chunky…no FAT girl that sits right next to the door with her really short- half nappy, half dry, half greasy jheri curl. Of course I only knew this is how her hair was by about the 3rd day because the first couple days she had a plastic bag on her head… yes… plastic bag- not a doo-rag, not a shower cap…a plastic bag. Like the kind from the grocery store. Then to top it off, this big blob of afro-sheen has the audacity to sit there and either text, or play games on her phone most of the class. On roughly the 3rd day (I think) our professor – who usually jokes about drinking 40s and smoking crack on High Street (now y’all see why I like him) – was talking about some statistics sociologists did on abortion. Well apparently this stank skag whore didn’t like what he was saying and made a point to say how it was wrong. Um- excuse me ho- but this ain’t your class- so shut up! For one- he was not trying to say if it was right or wrong- he was just reading statistical analysis. (Probably a word too big for her jelly belly to understand) So she gets up and walks out of class. Just walks out. BYE!! Don’t let the door hit ya where the good lord split ya- ya fat ignorant COW!
I have no time for bullshit like that! I am sorry- this is an adult learning establishment…there are going to be some topics you do not agree with- that’s the point in learning!! If we spend our entire lives stuck in a tiny little narrow-minded tunnel- then yes… you might as well pack up your shit, and crawl underneath the stall at the local Wawa, and spend your life there among the bacteria growing on the tile.
On a side-note- I have still never been in a Wawa- so for all I know- they probably have clean bathrooms- I was just using them because I like to say Wawa… even though in certain Spanish dialects- that’s how it sounds in slang for “Bus”, and in Quechua it means “Children”- so now you can take your Wawa on the guagua to the wawa (however they are properly spelled)… back to my bitterness….
I guess if I had to pick a class I liked the best out of the 2 I have now… it would have to be Sociology- because at least I like the professor, and the subject matter… where my next class- I just like the subject matter.
English… :::sigh:::… I have never wanted to take a bucket of hot bacon grease and dump it on someone as badly as I want to on my professor. Then top it off with a pot of hot cheese grits… extra cheese so that it sticks, and slooooooowly drips and burns. On the first day- I could tell there was something… not right. I tried… LAWD KNOWS I TRIED… to approach the situation with an open mind and a clean slate… why- because that’s what I do! Even after introductions (which we all did for each other- and he didn’t even volunteer any information about him- big surprise) – I knew there was something… I couldn’t put my finger on it… but as they say in Hindi- Dahl-me kuch kala hain (there’s something black in the dahl). His syllabus… vague… He might as well of just wrote “___” on a black paper- at least then it would be less confusing. And don’t ask for clarification… well you can, if you want to have someone make you feel like you are the stupidest person that walked the face of the earth! I STILL tried to have an open mind- even after a couple of other class-mates were saying how they had friends that had him before and how shitty of a professor he was – I still was like… “well, we should give him a chance.” Yeah… fuck that- he is a shitty professor. Now I love to write… obviously – otherwise I would not write this blog, or write music, or write poetry… however, I do not claim that I am the next Stephen King. I know I am no Hemmingway, or sadly I am no Khalil Gibran. But- I enjoy it. After my first essay in this class (which by the way he was so vague about his expectations, I would have had a better chance squeezing an apple and getting orange juice than getting a straight forward answer from him in class) I got the LOWEST grade I have EVER received on an essay. A C+. The plus was because it was not TOO painful to read. Really? Fuck you! You know what is painful? Well, even if you do not want to know I will tell you… your class! Sitting there dissecting literature to the point that it is no longer artistic. I said it before, and I apologize to those that also follow me on the book of facing (to quote my “adopted brother”) – Dissecting literature is like trying to appreciate the beauty of a rose by reading its molecular structure. Then you have the NERVE to say that you do not agree with my opinion… AND take points OFF… really? If we want to talk about disagreements… I disagree that you want a “professional” classroom, yet you feel that you can come to class in jeans and an un-tucked t-shirt. In addition to that- you enjoy telling people that you do not agree with their opinions so they are not correct. Well… I hate to break it to you… Opinions are like assholes my friend- everyone has one- and everyone’s stink! Get over yourself!
Now you may be like “oh my god Myke, you’ve gone too far… it’s just a grade, why not take it like a man.”
I have NO problem accepting a grade if I did a shitty job, OR , if the points being taken off are indeed fair points. Ding me for grammar, spelling, punctuation- SHIT THAT MATTERS! Don’t tell me you think I took a way to “abstract” view on the piece and feel that just because I won’t be able to get people to “argue” my “argument” that it is not good. AHHHHHHH- He is so lucky I am not a man of revenge, otherwise I would find his car, and shit in his windshield-wiper fluid… but I would wait until a nice HOT day to do it!
It’s no wonder people do not like Literature. Probably the same reason I hated math until I had the professor I did last session- the teachers!
I have always loved English. I love languages. I love words! How else can we express ourselves? But when you get a pompous jack-ass who feels that HIS standard is only inferior to that of… oh wait.. NO ONE… then how the hell is anyone ever going to become a great writer?
OH OH OH… and to top it off… the one person that DID get an A in the class- happens to be a Literature major (big surprise) and she told me that she “paraphrased” a story, and didn’t have the book- so she wasn’t able to cite it- AND she mentioned this to the teach (according to her)… AND STILL GOT AN A!! Are you FUCKING KIDDING ME?? I get counted off because my opinion is abstract, yet you get praised for plagiarizing?
I talked to my best friend about this (who has really been the only one that has not been like- ok Myke- just shut up, I’m tired of hearing about this- but then again- she gets me better than anyone in the world sometimes I think) and she said that she had a professor like this once too. She said that all I need to do is follow is rubric and put nothing more into than that.
Then I talked to my mother… good ol’ mom. That crazy lady (bless her heart). She said, “just remember you look at YOU in the mirror, not him. Be true to yourself, and true to your writing. I know you are worried about your grade, but don’t sell yourself out.” I was like- wow- Gangstah Mammy is back!
Now I have to figure out how to put the advice of my best friend into place, and still doing what my mom suggested and not become a lil punk bitch and sell out my style and way of writing simply because the professor doesn’t like it.
I mean- I don’t like the stupid freaking religious poems we had to read, and how they are compared to Jesus and God and stuff… but I still have to read the pieces of shit… so he should be able to deal with mine…
OH – and another thing- he doesn’t even read them BEFORE you meet with him. You submit it online- and then go into his cubicle at your “set time” – even though he was 20 minutes late… but does he get points off… NO! Then after you go into his cubicle- you sit and wait for him to read it. “mmm… ugh… no…hmm- yea, this is wrong- you want to say this” … um No mother fucker, if I wanted to say this I would have- I wanted to say THAT for a reason!
Ok ok ok ok ok… I will shut up about this- otherwise I will go on too long!
On a side note… I went to the podiatrist today. Thank god nothing was broken. He said that it looks like I either tore or stretched the hell out of a tendon (or maybe it was a ligament, who knows)… all I heard was NOT BROKEN, so that’s all I cared about.
This just shows the power of writing- after firing off at the mouth for these some 2,000 words… I actually feel a lot better. Therapy. Free therapy.
Now I have to go into class- and present my Annotated Bibliography about “Hills White Like Elephants” … because THAT was not an abstract piece of writing. Of course I couldn’t write anything on my OWN opinion, I just had to go and read what other critics said- and summarize their opinions… because after all, why would I have an opinion- I am just a student – (but at least I have a male’s name).
Hopefully next blog will be filled back again with roses and candy and a side of fried chicken (which by the way I still haven’t had since I moved to Pennsylvania)….
“The truest characters of ignorance are vanity, and pride and arrogance” ~Samuel Butler (1835-1902)
Wednesday, July 6, 2011
An Ankle in Hand is Worth a Puke in the Bush
Friday, June 17, 2011
Kickbox-Salsa + Clowns = Crazy
Monday, May 23, 2011
Water Repellent Mesh in a Parade of Stupid!
Monday, May 9, 2011
The Loneliness of the American Dream
Since my last post, I have been pretty down. I am not sure exactly what is contributing to it-I just know I have been down. I could get really philosophical, but I try to keep my blogs pretty light (for the most part) because I have learned that very few people actually really want to hear about your deep thoughts, and they just want to be entertained… I guess I’m ok with that.
I have pretty much come to an overall understanding of the ‘down-ness’. I have been alone for 2 weeks. I had one week off of work which I spent a majority of it in solitude at the house and minimal interaction with other humans (ok, with anyone, it’s not like I was talking to animals or aliens) other than facebook or messenger. I have also had a couple holidays (Easter & Mother’s Day) away from family. And though I am grateful to have ‘adopted’ family here- it still is hard to be away from my loved ones I have known my entire life. In addition to all this, I really do not have any friends, which if you know me, I think you understand how I need this interaction with people- even if I manage to dislike people more and more as I get older- I still crave that interaction. It’s hard to meet people when you don’t go out. Luckily I am starting school on the 17th, so I am sure I will meet some people to just talk to.
On a happier note, the weather has been really beautiful here, my garden is starting to take hold, and…. I FINALLY got my grass cut. I do not understand, I called 3-4 places up here to get a ‘free estimate’ that they are so proud they give, and of those, 1 said they would be out that afternoon (never showed), 1 never called back, 1 came by while I was at work, left a drink coolie thingy and a card saying they couldn’t understand my number, call back… um NO- you came out here- give me an estimate and write it down how much its going to be fool!! Finally I was checking the mail, and someone had put a flyer in my mailbox (illegally)… hell, I didn’t care it was illegal; my grass looked like I was putting Rogaine and steroids in the fertilizer! I called the guy was really nice. Well it turns out that its 2 kids (I say kids like I’m 100 years old- but I would guess these guys were around 17). They were very professional over the phone and explained that they were trying to start their business, and they would be happy to come out for the estimate. He called me back a few minutes later and said they were going to be about 15 minutes later, because his ‘business partner’ had to do something real quick. I appreciated this. They got here, and it wasn’t the huge commercial mower on the back of an expensive trailer pulled by a huge gas guzzling truck. It was simply 2 kids, in a beat up mini-van, a push mower and some other lawn tools crammed in the back. Over the phone he had explained to me he had worked for a landscaper for 2 years and really loved it and was trying to get his business off the ground. I could tell how proud he was when he got there. Both of them were very professional, shook my hand, we walked the yard, he gave the estimate- which I agreed to- and off they were cutting.
Looking back this makes me feel good. I think that is a part of
So I helped a kid take another step towards his dream of a landscaping business, and I really hope that he makes it successful! Because where all these commercial places were too busy to return my call, or simply did not show up when they said they would, here a kid with a dream, was happy to take my business!
Wow do I know how to go off on a side note!!
Other than that, I have worked a few days, and people still amaze to shock me with stupid requests in a garden centre. “When I plant these seeds, do I have to plant them in dirt, or do I water the package” – “Do you have paint to paint the flowers a different colour, I wanted the colour to be a little darker” – “How about I take you home, and you can help me with my bush”….. ::::BUZZER::::: ok- stop right there… if your bush is so crazy that you need HELP with it.. .I am definitely NOT your man! You probably have roaches and rats and weasels living in that bush, and I want NOTHING to do with it…. Um, I am talking about an actual bush you nasty monkeys! Although I did laugh once because a guy came in and told me he wanted to see our selection of really thick bushes, and I told him he would probably be better watching some 1970s porn if he wanted to see really thick bush! He got a kick out of it… thank god, or I probably would have been fired!
Anyways, I just wanted to write a short bit… nothing fancy happening in my life right now, just waiting for it to take off. Meanwhile I am still enjoying the change in climates and change in states- the people are slowly growing on me… kinda like moss I guess….
“Sometimes when you’re really lonely, you really feel alive and you feel like you know who you are” ~ anonymous
Tuesday, April 19, 2011
Memories of a Wildebeest's Life
Thursday, January 6, 2011
Waiting in the World of Ghettodom
So here I sit…. back in
Sipping a cup of café con leche… made at home, not some small Cuban joint up the street where they came to know my name, and exactly how much sugar I like. The little café where they had the best breakfast is no longer within a 4 minute drive.
There is soft music from Pandora- “Before Sunrise” by Kiran Murti to be exact- not loud Celia Cruz “AZUCAR, AZUCAR” coming from the ancient Cuban lady next door. Yes, the lady that did some brujeria the day before I got down there to get the rest of my stuff. How do I know? Why else would there be a dead chicken, plucked, outside of her house?
I don’t know how to feel just yet.
I have been absent from most things that are ‘normal’ to my life. I suppose I do this as a form of exercise. We never know how far we can push ourselves, until we do it.
Well… I’m doing it.
I put in my resignation letter for a job that I loved, to pursue something I love more- and of course someone I love more! The response from my company: “Ok- good luck”.
Not “is there anything to change your mind”. Not- “oh my, this is a shock”.
I think that was the hardest thing about leaving. The fact that I meant nothing, well, at least to the non-educated, stuck in the 80s dressing, ignorant, racist, Big Lot dye job, bark like a dog- bit like a toothless dead wonky-eyed hobo, fell off the top step of a double-wide bitch that used to manage me. Am I bitter? NOOOOOO, I’m past aaaall that now!
Since coming to
I had a friend once tell me- “sometimes you just jump, and the net appears.”
I wanted to tell her “ho, I am NOT in Cirque du Soleil” But I know what she meant.
So I jumped.
Now I am saying- “APPEAR DAMMIT, APPEAR!!”.
I have withdrawn from Facebook, my friends, my family- other than my crazy mother who there is no hiding from, she’s like a ninja, they need to send her crazy ass to find Osama!
I’m not depressed at all. I am just so calm- I think that’s what freaks me out the most. I just KNOW that everything will be fine.
The other day, I went to orientation for one school I will be attending.
I am glad to know that I still have my ghetto magnet!
Everyone always comments that I can walk into a room filled with 50 thousand people. If there were ONE ghetto girl… she would seek me out, and we would be best friends!
Apparently, this holds true in educational establishments as well.
For starters, the professor who was doing the orientation had her bowl of “ghetto-os” that morning. You could tell that was one educated lady- but ghetto does not mean stupid!
The professor said “ERRR-body up in here that don’t like ta read… well, dat went out da do da minute you stepped up in HURR…. up in dis establishment, they are hardcore on dat first ‘are-ah’ that you learned when you were little…. reading”
It was love at HELLUR!
As for the people in the class…. of course the girl with brownish hair and the 1B long pony-tail sat in front of me and had to turn around ERY moment she could to talk to me. I wanted to be like… um shoooze me, but we can tell dat shit aint yours (referring to her pony-tail). But she was PROUD of that pony-tail. She slung that thing around like she had been growing it all her life. Go’on guhl!!
Behind me, I had someone similar, except she had a short curly RED bun, with black hair… I don’t know who she’s trying to fool! I really liked her though- she was the loud one of the class, and was using words that I had never heard, so at least she kept it entertaining!
Afterward the orientation, I had to stand in line… for 2 hours (once again, am I bitter? On this one- HELL YEA)… to hand them 3 pieces of paper. Yes, you heard that right.. to HAND them 3 pieces of paper.
Not- oh, if you’re just turning in paperwork that needs to be collected and do not have any questions, just place them here. OH NOOOOOO! Stand yo butt in this line and listen to the coke-head (literally) talk about the best deal on a half ball, whole ball, basketball, whatever they call it.
I have to just say something about him. WHY? That’s really all, and I turned around once and actually asked him why he was wasting his parent’s money going to school.
If he is:
1- stupid enough to talk about doing cocaine, and all the other crap he mentioned (I must be getting old because I only understood the coke and marijuana references) in a line FULL of people he has never met before
2- mentioning the fact that he has been selling it
3 - mentioned the WHEREABOUTS of the guy he gets it from.
Yes, he didn’t just say “oh Jason is in the greater
REALLY?
Seriously? You are really dumb... fo real!
I eventually got tired of him talking so loud, that I couldn't keep my mouth shut. But I did it in pure Myke fashion. I would smile, and just say things out loud.
I had temporary tourettes syndrome.
Off subject- kinda-Microsoft word does not recognize this word, so I had to actually do research to find out how to spell it correctly- and me being so damn curious, actually ended up reading about the disorder!. Rather interesting actually. I will admit I'm probably going to hell, because I still think there are times that this is one of the funniest disorders!
Back to my babbling-
So I had TTS ® (Temporary Tourettes Syndrome)- yes I made that up- get over it!
“We know who’s taking chemistry…crack-head”
No filter.
“I bet someone is mad tuition doesn't include a silver plated straw”
No patience.
“Shut up, shut up, shut up, shut…the…fuck…up”
After that fiasco, I met up with my “Italian family” (just friends that have become more like family… not code for mafia) at Universal. I had an amazing time as always with them.
It’s going to be hard being further from them now…. but I know they will visit, and I can visit them. Besides, we always have our Pictionary memories of “Team Hitler” and “Team Ninja” – that will be a story for another time though.
At the end of the day, they all came and crashed at the house. There were Italians laying everywhere. On the couches, on the floors, on the tables, in the hall- all of them wearing togas and yelling in Italian about Julius Cesar and pasta and Roman orgies.
Ok, not the last part, but I wanted to be sure you were still reading, and awake!
The following morning, I got up early, made some rum balls- because I’m just that domestic!
Besides, I’m all about sharing my balls… my rum balls you dirty dirty minded monkeys!
The family left after several cups of coffee and tea- it saddened me a little… ok, a lot! The leaving, not the coffee and tea.
I had lunch later that day with someone very dear to me. I can say probably the one person that is going to be my saving grace through this trying time of mine.
It was a good bitch session. I bitched some, he bitched some, we saw a bitch, a bitch saw us, he said bitch a couple times, I said bitch a couple more times than that…. it was bitch-tastic!
I am now playing the game of ‘wait’.
My transfer status from my second job….. waiting.
My financial aid for school…. waiting
My start date for
My realization that I am not getting paid to travel the world anymore….. waiting
I think the only thing I am not waiting to do… is exhale. Although that was a good movie!
I have no clue what is to come in the next couple weeks. I am sure it will all balance out.
Though I do not believe that everything is “written” for us- I do believe that everything happens for the right reasons, at the right times. (Except traffic in
I guess I just have to remember that with every door closed behind you, is another hallway to explore!
“If you want to know your past- look into your present conditions. If you want to know your future- look into your present actions” ~ Chinese Proverb
